authors · Books · chapter books · Children's literature · fairy tales · indie authors · interviews · kids · Self Publishing · Writing

Q&A With Children’s Author Coraline Grace

Q. Hi Coraline. Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A. I’d like to thank you for having me on your blog. Much appreciated for the time you spend with authors like myself.

First, I’m a reader, writer, library romper, mom of four. I was born and raised in the Lone Star State and currently reside on an island down south. Well actually, Rockport is a peninsula.

About 7 years ago my little reader and I embarked on a quest to read the entire children’s section at our local library. Not only did I want to share the joy of reading with her, but I was on a mission. I was looking for an answer. What makes a writer? And so began the Library Romp. I won’t go into all my findings, but will say Pixie And The Green Book Mystery came from this experience. You can read more about this at www.libraryromp.com.

In the midst of removing the need for book ends, I also went back to school and obtained my Masters of EDU with an emphasis in reading. Both of these things support my passion for learning and facilitating children into becoming lifelong readers.

Q. Tell us something about your greatest success.

A. My greatest and most recent success is completing my first early chapter reader, Pixie And The Green Book Mystery. And I’m talking about its entirety. This has been a labor of love and there were times I didn’t think it would ever get done. I pulled together an amazing team, spent hours making connections, and learned the steps to produce great books for children. There’s nothing greater than seeing your goal to its completion. And the positive feedback makes it all worthwhile, knowing Pixie is connecting with her readers.

Q. What has been your biggest challenge?

A. With abundant energy and being at home, there should be plenty of time for writing, marketing, web design, promotion, and all the other necessary author work. Well, not exactly. Time management is not my forte. It’s learning to spend less time on the “others” and more time on what I really need to be doing – writing. After all, to be a writer you have to write.

Q. What are your plans for the future?

A. My plans are to continue writing the Pixie Mystery series. There are a total of five episodes or series, as I’m currently working on the next, Pixie And The Purple Book Mystery. This one is scheduled to be released late summer.

You may have noticed Japanese elements in my stories. This is intentional, and in fact, animation director, Hayao Miyazaki, is the inspiration behind my writing. My plans are to have Pixie translated into Japanese and eventually bring her to Japan.

cor-grace-japanesepic
Illustration by Encarna Dorado

Q. Where can people keep up with you and buy your books?

A. Pixie And The Green Book Mystery will be hitting the library shelves in south Texas this summer. I’m also working with several book retailers in Houston, San Antonio, and Austin. To find out store locations and release dates you can follow my blog or sign up by email. (libraryromps@yahoo.com)

Pixie and the Green Book Mystery

Pixie unlocks the magic, when she finds a glowing green book at the library. Fairy tale characters have come to life out of their stories and the evil Book Guardian is trying to capture them inside the mysterious book. So it’s up to Pixie to get the fairy tales safely back in their story books. But the quest does not end here. Pixie receives a pencil to fix their mixed-up stories and uncovers an evil plan to rid their story books forever. And this second grade hero will do whatever it takes to save books.

Pixie And The Green Book Mystery is an early chapter reader for ages 8 – 10. This fast-paced adventure is filled with adorable green pictures, captivating kids that love to read, and even kids that don’t like reading.

Watch the book trailer here!

Coraline also writes in other genres under other names – Caroline Robinson and Caroline Grace. These EBooks can be purchased on Amazon as well:

For book updates and other author muses you can find Coraline Grace here:  

Blog: http://www.libraryromp.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LibraryRomp

Facebook: Coraline Grace

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/coralinegwriter

cor-grace-3

Praise for Pixie and the Green Book Mystery

A Spectacular Flight of the Imagination! This was a very enjoyable and amusing story. The writing style was engaging and very entertaining. As I read through the pages I found myself recalling all the fairy tales that fascinated me as a child. It sparked wonderful memories as I remembered my own mother reading these stories to me. But the author adds a unique twist as she weaves a tale that intertwines other fairy tales, as the following excerpt shows.

“Things got better when Brownie, the Third Little Pig moved to town,” Alice continued. “Brownie used to run a bakery with his two brothers, until they were eaten by the Big Bad Wolf. And not wanting to be next on the menu, Brownie started VAC, or the Villain Awareness Company. He called the Seven Dwarf body guards from Snow White and asked for help. Underdogs like himself needed protection. Except, he was an underpig. Anyway, the Seven Dwarfs agreed to join VAC and rid the land of evil villains by banishing them into other books.”

As always, thanks for reading!
~Shana

 

2 thoughts on “Q&A With Children’s Author Coraline Grace

  1. Thanks for the Coraline Grace interview. I enjoyed learning more about this author. I am intrigued now about her book, Pixie and the Green Book Mystery, and will definitely read it. I can appreciate the challenge of time management that she faces. I loved how she shared her passion for promoting the love of reading. This is a topic that is dear to my heart. I’ll be checking her blog to learn more about her library romp. Again, thanks for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

