animals · authors · Books · cats · chapter books · Family · fantasy · interviews · kids

Q&A With Children’s Author Virginia Ripple

Please welcome children’s fantasy author of the Master Cat and Malkin series, Virginia Ripple, to the Reading Room today.

Q. Hi Virginia! Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A. Hello! I’m a small town Midwestern girl and I’ve been telling stories since I could hold a crayon, so it’s no surprise that I’m a writer now. I’ve also been “chosen” over the years by various numbers of cats. My family home could have been considered a feral cats rescue sanctuary. We took in more strays than I can remember. I actually tried to list them by name once and soon lost count. I’m sure that’s why I love writing the Master Cat and Malkin series. Right now I’m partner to a neurotic she-cat that most think is just in my imagination, since she hides whenever anyone comes around.

Q. Can you tell us something about your greatest success?

A. I think my greatest success was when I received my first fan email. That was such a surprise and I treasure it, just like I treasure every one I’ve received since then. I think readers underestimate their impact on authors. It’s not just about the sales. It’s about how our stories touch their hearts. At least it is for me.

Q. What has been your biggest challenge?

A. My greatest challenge is the same as Sugar Ray said theirs is: writing. That probably sounds strange. Most writers would say their least favorite part of writing is the editing phase, but for me that’s when I create the masterpieces I love. Pulling the story out of my head and putting it down on the page is the most difficult part. I can see the scenes, but then I have to somehow put what I see in written words that make the reader see and feel the same thing. Not an easy task.

Q. What are your plans for the future?

A. I plan to keep telling stories. I have several ideas for future books in the Master Cat and Malkin series and, possibly, a new series set in a different world with completely different characters. At present, I’m working on the next Master Cat book, continuing the tale of Toby and Lorn and their magical feline/human partnership.

Q.Where can people keep up with you and buy your books?

A. I’m not hard to find, though I’ve often buried myself under mounds of research and have to be dragged from my writer’s cave. Ha! The first place to go is my web site: virginiaripple.com. I’m also on facebook (https://www.facebook.com/virginiarippleauthor), twitter (@virginiaripple), pinterest (http://www.pinterest.com/virginiaripple/), and instagram (https://instagram.com/virginiaripple).

Apprentice Cat, Book 1 in the Master Cat series
A magical partnership between a cat and a boy. A mysterious plot years in the making. Will they uncover the truth before it’s too late? If you love edge-of-your-seat action, intriguing espionage, and a bit of magic, then you’ll love this.

Purchase links:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B009KAM766
All others: https://www.books2read.com/u/4NLdo3

Thanks for reading about Virginia! I hope you’ll check out both of her feline series!
~Shana
Leave a Reply

