animals · authors · Books · chapter books · Children's literature · dogs · Family · illustration · indie authors · interviews · kids · Publishing · Reading · Writing

Q&A With Children’s Author Diane Rose Duffy

I’d like to introduce none other than a grandmother and granddaughter writing team today, Diane Duffy and Lilly Bicho, co-authors of the chapter-book Bogart Series. I love that these two work side by side on their books and I also love that their stories are told from a dog’s perspective!

Q. Hi Diane! Please tell us about yourself and your books.

A. As an author, I’m generally known for writing contemporary romance novels. However, my at-the-time 10-year old granddaughter, Lilly Bicho, approached me a while back and asked if I’d write a children’s chapter book for her. When I asked Lilly what she’d like the book to be about, she shared many incredible ideas. Instead of writing the book for her, I invited Lilly to co-author the book instead. Suffice it to say, her face lit up like the fourth of July. I can’t even describe in words what a wonderful experience it’s been working with Lilly to create the ‘The Bogart Series’ children’s chapter books.

I am a California native who has a passion for books, a whopping coffee addiction and a perpetual craving for chocolate. After recently retiring from a lengthy accounting career in Silicon Valley, I now enjoy the peaceful serenity of daily life in the Sierra Nevada foothills of Northern California. I’ve completed three humorous romance novels and two funny children’s chapter books with the support of my husband, who truly is my ‘happily ever after’.

Lilly Bicho is eleven years old. She’s in the sixth grade and is an honor student at the top of her class. She adores animals and spends most of her free time playing with her three large dogs (Ginger, Sadie, and Bogart). She also has a fascination for insects and spiders or anything science related. When Lilly was younger she had a difficult time with hearing loss, asthma, and delayed speech. She has overcome many obstacles and is now healthy and strong. Lilly enjoys reading and can spend countless hours at the library without becoming bored. She has an enormous book collection, and is currently starting an accumulation of comic books.

Lilly was extremely excited to write these Bogart Series children’s chapter books. She developed the idea for these stories, and has co-authored the books with me.

bogart-bicho

Q. Diane, can you tell us something about your greatest success or your latest success?

A. When I began my career as an author three years ago, I had very little confidence in myself. The idea of successfully publishing books seemed far fetched, to say the least. But I put myself out there when every fiber in my being was screaming in terror. Since then, I’ve written and published three romance novels and two children’s chapter books. I’ve attended numerous book signings and still remember my eyes tearing up when asked to sign a book. Honestly, it still happens sometimes. I believe I’ve set an example for Lilly and others. It’s truly scary to put yourself out there but you’ll never know what you can accomplish unless you try. Take a leap – dream big and follow your dreams!

duffy-2

Q. I love that and tell the young readers that I meet the same thing – to dream big! What has been your biggest challenge, Diane?

A. My biggest challenge was writing the Bogart Series books. You see, my granddaughter/co-author (Lilly) lives a good four-hour drive away. That being the case, we had to write the greater part of these books by corresponding via Skype, phone or email.

BLAME BOGART is a humorous children’s chapter book for ages 6-12 as told from a Golden Retriever’s perspective. It is the first book in the BOGART SERIES with the second book entitled, BOGART LISTENS.

In BLAME BOGART, there are more than a few subtle morals to be learned with the primary being…. treat others the way you would like to be treated.

Q. Looks like a wonderful series for children. What plans do you have for the future?

A. There will be more Bogart books forthcoming. Lilly and I plan our writing schedule primarily around her school breaks. Writing will resume in full force this summer. She has a notebook filled with ideas for Bogart’s next adventure.

Q. Where can people keep up with you and buy your books? 

A. Here are my social links.

FB:  https://www.facebook.com/BogartSeries/

AMAZON AUTHOR page:  http://goo.gl/tkb1fL

WEBSITE:  dianeroseduffy.com

chapter_6-(2)

And here’s where you can read about, purchase, or write a review for The Bogart Series books!

Amazon Paperback: http://goo.gl/Dg4577

Amazon Kindle: http://amzn.to/1HrVoeL

BarnesandNoble.com: goo.gl/YQ9O9j

Finally, here is where you can check out Diane Rose Duffy’s very popular contemporary romance novels! http://www.amazon.com/Diane-Rose-Duffy/e/B00O2CJBHK/ref
Thanks for reading! You can get a free Rosco the Rascal ebook for your child by joining my email list at shanagorian.com!
~Shana
6 thoughts on “Q&A With Children’s Author Diane Rose Duffy

  1. What a lovely interview, Shana! Dianne and Lilly make a fabulous pair. I always enjoy Roscoe’s Reading Room so much, as do my two grandchildren. Even though I don’t repost all the time, I would very much like to have BLAME BOGART and his creators displayed at my Fauna Park Tales blog. I’m sure Flame, aka Jack Old Boy and his furry and feathered friends will be delighted to make their acquaintance! Kind regards😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

