authors · computer games · indie authors · interviews · kids · Middle Grade Fiction · On Writing · Reading

Q&A With Children’s Author Kate Cullen

Today I’d like to welcome Kate Cullen, author and illustrator of the Game On Boys middle grade series to the Reading Room. Her books have been known to entice even the most addicted video gaming kids away from their screens to read for a while-and enjoy it!

Q. Hi Kate! Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A. I am located on the beautiful Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia, where the climate allows for swimming “almost” all year. It is the perfect lifestyle for children to grow up in and enjoy the outdoors.

I started writing sporadically about eight years ago, penning my first children’s book before neatly tucking it away in the computer somewhere, until, in 2014, someone introduced me to the concepts of ebooks and self-publishing. I then dug it out of the archives, updated it and launched it on Amazon with another seven books following, over the space of two years.

I began writing because my computer obsessed son was driving me MAD!!

I still remember the day clearly, when he was about nine, standing in the local library going through every book on the shelf asking him which one he would be interested in, to which he would reply a firm “NO” to each and every book.

“I’m going to go home and write you a book that you want to read, and you will read it and you will love it,” was my reply.

And I did, and he did, and the rest is history. And now I have a small little following of computer obsessed boys (and girls) somewhere in this vast universe who are happy to read a little when they come off their consoles.

I achieved my goal plus more. I wanted my son to enjoy reading at least half as much as he enjoyed computer games, but I’ve also allowed other kids to get their computer fix through reading as well.

Q. I can totally relate. My son loves his games, too, a little more than I’d like! Can you tell us something about your greatest success and your latest success?

A. I think my greatest success in writing is still my first ever kids’ book. It’s the one that seems to get the best and most reviews (maybe it has something to do with the fact that it’s still free).

My latest success is finally getting to do a sequel to my girls’ series. I’ve spent so much time writing the computer based books that I haven’t been able to get back to the book about a good witch, but I am happy to say that finally finished it before Christmas.

Q. That’s great! I read your book about the good witch and really enjoyed it, by the way! What’s been your biggest challenge?

A. It is so hard to find time to write when you work, have kids and have another passion as huge as writing – ACTING!!

Q. What are your plans for the future?

A. I just want to keep on writing and writing and never let anything stop me – even work. Just keep reaching for the stars.

gob1-cover

Game on Boys 1 : The Playstation Playoffs
A hilarious adventure tale about one boy’s determination to conquer the biggest computer game contest at school and the disasters and catastrophes he encounters, whilst learning a few important life lessons along the way. It follows the adventures of 10 year old cool gamer, Ryan and his cool school, cool teacher, and very uncool sister ‘Loom Band Lisa’ who does everything in her pink power to ruin his fun.

When the teacher with the unfortunate name (Mr. Higginbottom) introduces a Play Station competition at school, everyone goes into a crazy frenzy as they battle their way to win the prize. With Ryan’s cool gaming record he’s a sure fire thing to win until something disastrously ugly happens to cause his plans of victory to come tumbling to the ground faster than supersonic radar doing a bungee jump with a triple somersault back flip on the way. SPLAT!
Will it all end badly, and will Ryan’s reputation change from being the coolest gamer to the biggest loser wearing splatted egg on his face or can super dooper good things come out of really horrid bad things?

With heaps of school yard humor and funny illustrations, this book is sure to drag even the most addicted gamer away from his console for a while.

After reading Game on Boys: The PlayStation Playoffs, there are another four books in the series to enjoy. Enthralling, hilarious, and unpredictable, the Game on Boys series is designed to appeal to the heart of any boy or girl. Read it aloud to your children and they won’t want to put the book down; a great inspiration to continue to build reading confidence on their own!

The Game on Boys books can be read in any order, and are equally loved by boys, girls and grown-ups as well. Game on Boys 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 are available in kindle and paperback.

gobseries-pics

Download the first ebook in the series here. And yes, you read that right, it’s free.
http://amazon.com/dp/B00K3W0KNM

Amazon UK for paperback purchases outside the U.S.:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00K3W0KNM

Follow Kate on Amazon

I hope you enjoyed Kate’s contagious sense of humor and dogged determination. I also hope that you’ll check out her books for your children.
If you’d like to receive a free copy of an ebook in my Rosco the Rascal series, you can join my email list. You’ll be emailed only a few times per month regarding new releases, updates, and freebies, and can unsubscribe at any time.
Thanks for reading!
~Shana

Save

2 thoughts on “Q&A With Children’s Author Kate Cullen

Leave a Reply

