Books · chapter books · Children's literature · indie authors · kids · Uncategorized

Q&A With Children’s Author Wanda Luthman

Today I’d like to introduce a fellow indie author to the Reading Room. Please welcome picture book and chapter book author Wanda Luthman.

Wanda Blue and Green Tropical Top
Wanda Luthman

Q. Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A. I’ve been a self-published children’s author since 2014 and have published 3 books so far (2 chapter books and 1 picture book). I started writing when I was very young. I remember my first book and the words weren’t spelled correctly so I’m assuming that was 3rd grade or earlier. I wrote poetry in middle school and loved my English Literature classes in High School. I took 16 credits of Literature in College but ultimately majored in Psychology. I have worked as a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and am currently a High School Guidance Counselor. I love people, especially kids and I want to encourage children to be the best little people they can be through Character Education and that’s why I publish now.

Q. Tell us something about your greatest success and your latest success.

A. Honestly, my greatest success was holding my first published book, The Lilac Princess, in my hands! I was so excited! This was truly a dream come true for me. I wasn’t sure if it was ever going to happen. Although, my second chapter book, A Turtle’s Magical Adventure, was the first one that I actually worked on with the help of many other talented people to bring to publication myself. For the first one, I used a “vanity press.” It cost a lot of money to pay someone else to publish the book but I didn’t know any better. So, I’m very proud of taking the leap to do it myself and bringing the turtle book to life!

My latest success is my picture book, Little Birdie Grows Up, that I’ve just recently brought to paperback, hardcover, and audiobook (it’s also available as an ebook). I was able to use my poetry for this project and I think it turned out great! I also loved working with my illustrator, Bryce Westervelt.

Screen Shot 2016-09-04 at 2.44.42 PM
The Lilac Princess and A Turtle’s Magical Adventure nominated for Best Children’s book SIB Awards

Q. What has been your biggest challenge? Please explain.

A. For me it’s not the writing or the editing–I enjoy both of those processes. My biggest challenge is the Marketing. I have no idea about marketing and didn’t realize before I self-published how much marketing it would involve. I love events and love interacting with the kids and parents but it’s the cold-calling to ask if they would have me that’s so hard. Plus, the social media marketing is vast and it’s unclear exactly how to proceed to get noticed. I’m not whining, though, I have jumped in with both feet and am learning the ropes. It’s because of incredible people like yourself who host me (and other authors) on their blog that helps so much! Thank you!

Q. That’s very kind of you to say! I find marketing to be quite a challenge as well and agree wholeheartedly with you! What are your plans for the future?

A. I plan to publish at least 2 chapter books a year and 1 picture book a year. I will be working another 12 years before I can retire, but when I do I want to pick up some freelance writing and join some groups in my area that promote reading, like Rolling Readers and a Retired Teachers Group that couples books with related plush toys and gives them away to children who would otherwise not own a book.

Little Birdie FINAL EBOOK Cover JPG
Little Birdie Grows Up

Little Birdie Grows Up by Wanda Luthman

Little Birdie Grows Up is a delightful rhyming picture book with charming illustrations about a little blue bird who pecks his way out of his shell and into the hearts of parents and children. He meets his Mama and yearns to fly up in the sky. His Mama reassures him that one day he will be able to fly. His first attempt is half-flying, half-falling out of the nest. But, when he finally does learn how to fly, well, it’s time to say good-bye.
Wanda Luthman’s Social Links:

www.facebook.com/wluthman

www.twitter.com/wandalu64

www.instagram.com/wandalu64

https://plus.google.com/+WandaLuthman

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14469611.Wanda_Luthman

https://www.linkedin.com/in/wanda-luthman-37b836117

http://www.youtube.com/c/WandaLuthman

www.amazon.com/author/wandaluthman

(Here’s a link to the book on Amazon that will change to the individual’s country when clicked: myBook.to/WandaLuthmanAuthor)

Direct contact: wandalu64 at gmail dot com

Thanks for reading!
~Shana
If you’d like to receive a free PDF copy of Rosco the Rascal’s Christmas short story, December Magic, just join my email list. You’ll be emailed about twice a month regarding my new releases, updates about my series and books from similar authors, and other freebies.

Save

4 thoughts on “Q&A With Children’s Author Wanda Luthman

Leave a Reply

