authors · Children's literature · kids · On Writing · promotions · Publishing · Uncategorized

Adventures with Goodreads Giveaways

I’ve run GR Giveaways for all three of my books at various times since the first was published in September 2014, and usually I get a good response (300+ entries), a few GR Friends and Followers, and two or three reviews out of it. (I usually give away 3-5 paperback books in one week-long giveaway. I don’t seem to have the patience to run month-long giveaways like some authors. I’d rather get my books in the hands of new readers ASAP!) This time, I’m actually very happy with the turnout of my recent giveaway.

Some quick stats in case you’re a writer thinking of doing a GR giveaway, or a reader thinking of entering one:

One week
~Three autographed paperback copies of Rosco the Rascal Goes to Camp
~Three lucky winners in the USA!
~602 entrants!
~600 Goodreads members marked the book as To-Read (almost double what I’ve usually had in the past for the same number of days!)

Now let’s hope they actually Do-Read It!

What I don’t like about using the GR Giveaways is, of course, that Goodreads doesn’t want you to interact further with any of the entrants interested in your giveaway, once the giveaway ends. It seems as though I ought to be able at least to ask them to Follow me on Goodreads, doesn’t it, if they were interested enough to register for a giveaway? But, GR users would have needed to Follow me at the time they registered for the giveaway, or look me up later. It’s considered spamming by GR to message and ask them to follow or friend me, so I don’t do that. Shucks, is all I have to say to that. Still, it’s a great way to get exposure for your books.

If you’re a reader and you were interested in any recent giveaways you entered but didn’t win, I’d advise you to go follow that author right now, because he or she will probably be running other specials that you won’t want to miss out on. Tell all your friends to do the same!

And, if you’re one of that 599 who didn’t win an autographed copy of my book, or even if you’re not, and you’d like a free copy of the Kindle version of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review on Amazon and/or GR, please email me at author@shanagorian.com and I’d love to send you one while we still have a few weeks of summer left!

Happy Trails!
Shana

shanagorian_roscotherascalgoestocamp_600-72
Rosco the Rascal Goes to Camp
Leave a Reply

