authors · Children's literature · indie authors · interviews · On Writing · Publishing · Uncategorized · Writing

You must take the little potato with the big potato ~ Irish proverb, aka. Thoughts in March

shamrock-whbkg

If you’re enough lucky to be Irish… You’re lucky enough! – Irish Proverb
It’s that month again, when anybody who wants to, can pretend to be Irish, at least for one day mid-month. St. Patrick’s Day is one of my favorite holidays, and I, myself, am about 98% of Irish descent, so I feel even more obligated than the next gal to break into my best Irish brogue now and then (while my tween-age daughter rolls her eyes). Gorian is my married name. Me, I come from a long line of Foleys.

Recently, I’ve started a new Rosco the Rascal book, completely in keeping with my unrelinquishing proclivity to write books in-season. It’s a St. Patrick’s Day themed book, and it started as a short story. (more below) It won’t be out until next year of course, but it’s been on the back-burner for a long time, so I’m over the moon to get started on it. With that in mind, I’d like to explain my latest news in more detail with a little help from the folks of the Emerald Isle.

All the world’s a stage and most of us are desperately unrehearsed – Sean O’Casey
This proverb may be the story of my life, in fact. But once again, being able to make executive decisions without needing to ask permission of anyone else, since I self-publish, has REALLY come in handy. You all know that I’ve been testing out a lot of new things to generate more interest in my Rosco the Rascal series.

For instance, I’ve started making school visits. I spoke with a wonderful third grade classroom early last month. It went very well and I plan to do more of these visits.

I’ve also been hosting weekly Question & Answer interviews with fellow children’s authors on my blog, and that is going extremely well. And, as you all know, I’ve written three monthly Rosco the Rascal short stories so far. I love writing them and they’ve been well-received.

It is often that a person’s mouth broke his nose – Irish proverb
Oh ‘ay, (pronounced oh-eye, in my worst, pathetic ‘British’) as they say, but with this monthly short story goal, I’ve been seeing the error of my ways. First of all, the stories take a LOT of time and effort, and in order to make them a worthwhile read, with a good plot and resolution, I find myself writing longer and longer stories each month. For instance, my St. Patrick’s Day short story was 2500 words-almost double the other short stories-and not even finished at that. And, so it finally occurred to me that I’ve been robbing Peter to pay Paul. Any of you Irish Catholics out there will know that the phrase means taking something of value from one to pay off a debt to another. I’ve been merely using up my valuable book ideas on short stories, which probably won’t amount to much in the end! I’ve ‘kinda’ been robbing myself of new book ideas just to try and get more readers right now!

I had planned to publish all twelve months’ worth of short stories in an anthology next year. But now, giving this a closer look, I don’t think a book of short stories will sell as well as my one-theme, full-length books. Using a very unscientific method described as asking my son’s third grade friends, I’ve discovered that many children prefer a whole book-length story on one overall topic when they’re reading fiction as opposed to a book of short stories. And this is important for me especially, since I like to write such seasonal and holiday-themed books. What kid wants to read about turkeys in July or fireworks in November?

And, so, I realized this March short story would be the perfect main plot for a whole new Rosco the Rascal book about St. Patrick’s Day. And I’d rather take the time to turn it into a whole book than break my nose with my mouth like the proverb says (ie. sell myself short.)

Lose an hour in the morning and you’ll be looking for it all day – Irish proverb
Losing hours-don’t even get me started. With all this going on, I was also putting very little time into writing my Rosco the Rascal Christmas book, due out next fall. And that worried me! The whole process began to seem counterproductive.

You must take the little potato with the big potato – Irish proverb
Isn’t that always the way? I must take the good with the bad. If I want to take back more time to write the full-length books, AND save the stories for full-length books, I’m afraid I won’t be writing the monthly short stories anymore. But, always a glass-half-full girl, one of my lifelong mottos has been, In times of trouble, reconsider, revamp, readjust. Don’t fret. (Wrote that one myself.)

leprechaun1-small

You’ve got to do your own growing, no matter how tall your father was – Irish proverb
So that’s just what I’m going to do! I’m going to revamp the plan. But I can’t imagine I’ll get any taller. (I mentioned I’m Irish?)

I appreciate all of your feedback on my highs and lows thus far! Please feel free to share your thoughts with me at author@shanagorian.com or message me on my Contact page if you’ve got any wisdom to share, Irish or otherwise!

2 thoughts on “You must take the little potato with the big potato ~ Irish proverb, aka. Thoughts in March

  1. I love all the Irish-ism’s!! I also love your independent un-biased research but I would agree with your son’s friend. Just pretending I’m a kid again and that’s something I do all the time anyway, I preferred books that were all one topic. I don’t know if I ever picked up an anthology back then. Happy writing to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

