authors · Books · Children's literature · Family · indie authors · interviews · kids · Writing

Q&A With Children’s Author Dan Soderberg

Today, I’m proud to feature a busy children’s author and Dad blogger whose books are a family affair! Please give a warm welcome to Dan Soderberg.

TG-books2
Dan Soderberg and son

Q. Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A. I was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland and currently live in South Central Pennsylvania. I’ve been writing since my college days, so about 20 years. I used to focus on screenplays and short stories, but I’ve been blogging on sports and fatherhood topics for about five years and had always wanted to write a children’s book.

My son asked me if we could write a book together. He was 8 at the time (He’s currently 9). It sounded like a fun activity and a good way to teach him about story structure, setting goals, entrepreneurship, etc. So, we wrote our first book, Elevator Jones, over the course of about three months. It was a great experience. The book has been well received and my son absolutely beams with pride when he talks about the project.

I had published a book titled Buckley the Toothless Beaver a few months before Elevator Jones as a way of familiarizing myself with the self-publishing process. Buckley is a really fun character and I may do another Buckley book in the future.

EJ
Elevator Jones

Elevator Jones (Volume 1): Henry Jones was a typical second grader during the school day. After school Henry became the time traveling adventurer of the magical Grand Excelsior Hotel. Join Henry and his friends Horatio and Lucas in the Adventures of Elevator Jones.

You can find the book here: http://goo.gl/W3KaA5

Q. Tell us something about your greatest success.

A. Given that I’ve only written and published two children’s books, I’d have to say that Elevator Jones has been my greatest success. We had great fun creating the characters and crafting the story. My son learned valuable lessons and we had a wonderful time working together. Now he writes his own stories nearly every night. His little sister wants in on the act as well. Fostering a love of reading and creating an environment where creativity is cherished has been the greatest success.

greyson_book

Q. What has been your biggest challenge?

A. Time is always the biggest challenge. I have a full-time job, teach as an adjunct professor at two colleges and work as a freelance writer. I’m also a dad, husband, son and the proud owner of a 13-week-old Golden Retriever pup. Finding time to write is a challenge. I know that writing helps me relieve stress and stimulate my brain. It’s been a necessary activity for me for years.

Q. What are your plans for the future?

A. I’m currently working on a book with my 6-year-old daughter. Her name is Luella but her nickname is Louie Kablooey. She has a tendency to create messes in multiple rooms of the house simultaneously. The book will feature the Louie Kablooey character in various stages of mischief.

My son and I are also working on volume two of Elevator Jones. We have ideas for another four or five books so we’re hoping to create a series.

In addition, we’ve been saving up some of our book proceeds and plan to donate care packages to a local orphanage. Our hope is to continue to use our creative outlet to help others.

buckleycover
Buckley The Toothless Beaver

You can check out Buckley here: http://goo.gl/0seGer

Keep up with Buckley and Elevator Jones’ future adventures by following Dan on social media and on his blog:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/dadstimeout

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dansoderbergauthor/

Amazon Author Page: http://goo.gl/BqOLvp

Dad’s Time Out Blog: http://dadstimeout.tumblr.com/

Don’t miss his podcast! Listen to a podcast with Dan on Late Night Parents

Thanks for reading!
~Shana

If you would like to be considered for a featured author guest spot here, please send your name, book’s title and purchase URL to author@shanagorian dot com.
One thought on “Q&A With Children’s Author Dan Soderberg

Leave a Reply

