authors · Books · Children's literature · Family · indie authors · interviews · Publishing · Uncategorized · Writing

Q&A With Children’s Author Anthony Surrette

As author Anthony Surrette shares in his Facebook video, “it may be the middle of winter, but there’s no better time than now” to check out The Summer of New Toys! I think you’ll enjoy learning about him as much as I did.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books.

A: At the age of 6, I started my entrepreneurial journey working with my father, cleaning a local Italian bakery in Springfield, Massachusetts for $1 a week! At the age of 10 my father passed away and I realized at a young age to cherish and appreciate my family. At that same time, I began working as a landscaper with my neighbor, learning hard work and effort pay off. Years later, I would continue to work as many as three jobs at the same time while attending school. I had a goal of being successful and making my family proud. Fast forward to today, and I have continued to display that same work ethic and love for my family. I own multiple businesses and look to continue to grow each of them. I am a licensed CPA, Real Estate Agent, and CFE living in Western Massachusetts. I have a gorgeous wife and two beautiful daughters. My daughters have become the inspiration for my passion for writing. I want to write and share children’s stories with the world that educate children on life lessons. I completed my first title in November 2015 entitled The Summer of New Toys, and am beyond excited to share this story. I believe that if you are passionate about what you do, have a solid work ethic, and put your family first, you will be successful.

Q: Tell us something about your greatest success, and your latest success.

A: I have been fortunate throughout my life to have success in academics and business and hope to continue that success with my writing career. I was writing business articles and business plans consistently when I decided to move into the direction of children’s literature. My daughters made me realize that I wanted to take my writing abilities and use them to entertain and educate a younger audience.

The completion of my first story, The Summer of New Toys, was my greatest writing success. It was amazing to go through the process of taking an idea, putting it to paper, then to illustrations, and finally publishing a completed story. I am very proud of this story and what it represents to me in my journey.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge?

A: The biggest challenge is finding the time to write. I keep an idea book where I jot down concepts as they come to me, however, getting into the detail of the story process has been difficult. I am a true believer that you must make time for things that you value in life. Children’s writing, for me, is one of those things!

Q: What are your plans for the future?

A: My goal for the future is to continue to write children’s stories that educate on life lessons. I have my second title in progress and I am having a lot of fun with it. After working through the first title, I have been able to benchmark off of what worked well and also improve on what problems could have been avoided. I have decided to work with a local illustrator for the second title and I am ideally looking for someone to create a relationship with, for many stories in the future. I am hopeful to have the second title released by June 2016, and I am excited to continue building on this wonderful experience.

It was summer. Alice and Pete were happily playing with their toys. Then it happens. They find out they must visit their grandparents for the summer, and they cannot bring anything with them! But, what will they do without any of their favorite toys? Will their grandparents have any toys at their house? And when the summer appears to be ruined, what will the two children learn to make it the best summer ever?

The Summer of New Toys is available here in paperback:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/0692573178

Please check me out on social media. Stop by and say hello!

Website – www.anthonysurrette.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/tony.surrette #TheSummerofNewToys

Twitter – @tonysurrette

Thanks for reading!

If you would like to be considered for a featured author guest spot here, please send your name, book’s title and purchase URL to author@shanagorian.com.
Leave a Reply

