authors · Books · Children's literature · interviews · kids · Middle Grade Fiction · On Writing · Writing

Q&A With Children’s Author Wendy Hobbs

Q: Please tell us a little bit about yourself and your books. How long have you been writing? How did you get started?

A: I live in Cardiff, UK and I gave up my career as a property lawyer to follow my dream of becoming a writer. My book, The Spell of Pencliff, is based on Tenby, a small town in West Wales. Some years ago I began writing short stories for my daughter, Claudia, when she was given a life-sized doll’s house for Christmas. It was filled with miniatures, glittering chandeliers and a real grandfather clock. I was fascinated with the house, and I started developing characters that might have lived there. That is how I came up with the idea.

Summary for The Spell of Pencliff: On her thirteenth birthday, Claudia Quash receives a mysterious letter. It unlocks an unsolved crime, and Claudia has to clear her family name. Little does she know that she’ll be transported back in time into a magical world, where she also discovers special powers of her own.

On her journey she’ll be chasing criminals, making new friends, and facing a dark terror that hovers over the land.


If she can’t solve the mystery she might never return home…

This is the first book in a Middle Grade Fantasy series that features time travel and magic. For readers ages 7+

Formats: paperback and Kindle. Published by Onion Custard Publishing Ltd.

Purchase links:
UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1909129712
US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1909129712

 Q: Tell us something about your greatest success and your latest success.

A: My greatest success was being able to get my book published, and my latest success was being notified that I made the Hot Book list on iLovebookz.com. I am really proud of the amazing reviews that the book has received and the article that was written in the Tenby Observer.

Q: What has been your biggest challenge? Please explain.

A: Giving up my career, losing a regular income and coping with the solitude of being a writer as I am used to working in a busy office.

Q: What are your plans for the future?

A: I am going to keep writing and connect with as many children and adults as possible who have read the book. I love hearing what they think of the story.

To learn more about Wendy, please visit her website or follow her on social media:
http://www.wendyhobbs.com
@WendyFHobbs
Facebook/ClaudiaQuash

Thanks for reading!

 

If you would like to be considered for a featured author guest spot here, please send your name and/or book’s title to author@shanagorian.com
Leave a Reply

